A Bumpy Beginning

Unfortunately we’ve had a difficult end to 2012, followed by an equally challenging beginning. As a result I’ve decided that taking some time out to be with my family and support each other through this time is sensible. Therefore I have had to suspend the planned teaching programme until things are clearer for us.

As I’ve mentioned before my father has been ill. He came home from hospital just before Christmas and has taken a while to recover and is now ill again with virtually the same symptoms. As a result he is moving temporarily into nursing care for more observation and support, with the hope that the cause can be identified.

I was planning to go and stay with him / support him at home on New Year’s Eve following my daughter’s dating scan for her pregnancy. However sadly when she went for the scan her baby had already passed away. She had surgery yesterday and whilst she’s home and doing as well as can be expected, she understandably needs her Mum at the moment.

We’re not sure what the longer term plan is for Dad, and whilst my brother is local and doing a really good job of supporting him, he is juggling this with a fulltime job and busy family life, so at some point I am going to need to go to Devon and help Dad out, whether its getting him settled back home or moving into care.

I’ve felt liots of mixed emotions and would dearly love to clone myself at the moment and be all things to everyone.

I’m going to continue knitting and crocheting and working on designs and patterns and developing the retail side of what I make, as I can do that from anywhere – once I’ve made my Christmas present to me, a Russian knit in one piece shawl. I’m hoping that this will take a new direction which I’ll start blogging about once the idea is fully developed and ready to launch.

However the classes, lessons and workshops will need to go on the back burner along with the craft fairs for now, as I don’t want to commit to a 6 week course or a 1 day workshop and then have to cancel at the last minute due to being needed elsewhere.

I want to thank everyone who has supported Bits and Bobs Crafts in 2012 and to those old and new friends who have been part of the journey so far…. And I wish you and yours a Happy, Healthy and Blessed 2013

Bev x

11 thoughts on “A Bumpy Beginning

  1. Bless you and your family Bev, you certainly do need to put the needs of yourslef and famliy 1st. Life certainly has it’s twists and turns I hope the road becomes smoother soon. Take care, be strong your strength will see you through xxx

  2. I am really sorry to hear this. My heart really goes out to you all. My instinct is to offer you help although with the distances involved I realise that it is near impossible. I offer you my absolute best wishes. Try to remember to look after yourself as well as everyone else as you need to keep your strength up. xxxx

  3. So sorry to hear your sad news of all your troubles I hope things settle for you soon. Take care of what you need to do but take care of yourself as well. Thoughts are with you. Xx

  4. i’m so sorry to hear about your family. please accept my wishes for a better and brighter 2013 for you and your family x

  5. Thank you all so much for your kind words, thoughts and wishes. Its definitely a difficult time but we’re getting lots of love and support from so many people both in the “real world” and online which is helping so much xxx

    • I totally understand thank you for letting us know. I look forward to hearing from you the the future when life looks and feels a lot better for you and your family x

Leave a Reply

