Handmade Monday 99 – Spiralling with Butterflies

Welcome to this week’s Handmade Monday. If you’d like to take part, please pop over to Handmade Harbour for more info

Where life is not going at all smoothly just now and with a tax return looming I’m sort of in a fallow mode with regards to creativity – although I can feel ideas coming, especially around the new theme of HOPE that I’m working on. I have a suggestions list going on Facebook at the moment, as I’m collating people’s thoughts and ideas about what hope is to the them and what objects and colours symbolise hope. Not only will this inspire some designs but will also be used as the basis for a series of  blogs about  hope. If you’d like to take part,  please pop over to my page and leave your comments

Today’s post is all about making patterns and turning them into butterflies! This is a touch of serendipity as in between playing with butterfly ideas for a window display being constructed by Southampton Art House and sharing a photo over on Pinterest. The Art House are situated next to a currently emptyshop which will eventually form part of the new cultural quarter being created and have persuaded the local council to let them improve the front window area in the mean time…. and they’ve come up with this amazing design, and they now want local people to submit pictures of butterflies to add to it… To see the design please visit their blog

Anyway as I was pinning -that site is a dangerous distraction! – I happened across a Dutch magazine’s page which had one board themed around Spirograph. I had spirotot as a child as I think it was cheaper and our class teacher also taught us other ways to make similar patterns with compasses, pencils and  threads. I remember making those 70’s thread pics in fact! So only play true Spirograph at my cousin’s houses. But I loved the idea of making complex patterns from simple shapes and have been hooked on doodling in this style ever since.

On this wonderful page was a link to an Adobe Illustrator tutorial showing you how to use it to make Spirograph patterns. I have an old copy of Paintshop Pro 9 though and wondered if it was possible to replicate their ideas…… and with a bit of twiddling and a dredge into the deeply buried memory banks I did it!!

Then I got to thinking about how I could make butterflies, especially as I was already playing,  from the shapes I’d created and came up  with these design ideas:

butterflies The solid  grey and pink one was as a result of playing with brushes I have installed and although its pretty I have to admit I prefer my doodles!

I used a combination of ovals, stars and preset vector shapes to create my doodles. The plan is to replicate one of them in crocheted plarn and submit a photo of the finished item but the one I really want to do is going to be a challenge to do – I prefer the pink!

colour scheme

I then wantedto do a butterfly using the colours I’ve put together in a stripe pattern formy  Hope Design Board :

Hopeful butterfly

I have no plans to crochet this one but will submit it as a butterfly doodle……….. and go on to learn how to dye my own yarns so I can eventually make one!  What do you think?

20 thoughts on “Handmade Monday 99 – Spiralling with Butterflies

  1. I love this. True creativity. I am afraid that I am with you – I like the pink one too. Can’t you just make lots of ovals and join them together? Plarn should hold its structure quite well? Good luck with it – I look forward to seeing this develop a lot. I am hoping that you and your family are all coping ok. Still thinking of you all. xxx

  2. I loved my spirograph as a child. I tried to get my children interested but no luck. I love the design you’ve come up with and the colours work really well together.
    Ali x

Leave a Reply

