Handmade Monday 100 – Experimentally Cross

Welcome to Handmade Monday 100 –  Wendy has some special treats over at Handmade Harbour, so please feel free to take a look and maybe even join us!

I’ve mentioned before that I’m embarking on a design series based around the theme of hope, which will run alongside a series of blog posts that will detail my journey  – the first one was posted on Thursday and I’m looking for guest bloggers and people who want to share experiences of hope who might be interested in contributing.

I’m starting to research symbols that signify hope for a later post and also to help me with the design process and the most obvious to me and it seems many others, even those without a faith, is a cross. I want to make portable gifts that symbolise hope and the cross suggested itself as a good place to start.

I also feel really drawn to experimenting with wire and beads when crocheting small symbolic items – things that will make pendants, charms and key rings for example. So yesterday morning I duly dug out my reel of silver beading wire – previously rewound and detangled  – and my pot of random beads – mostly picked up from the floor when my crafting table collapsed!

I started off with a centre circle with a bead inside and built the cross up around it. I’d been doodling crosses before, and having recently read a novel about anglo saxon life which included the early church, noticed there were some celtic and early Christian influences creeping in. I placed one seed bead per stitch and basically let the cross form itself and this is the result:

Hewlett-Packard

I need to do a bit of work on trying to get the stitches more even and the beads to sit better. Once I’ve solved that then the big challenge will be photography! I got some great advice from lots of facebook friends which meant I ended up with an image that I could show, so am very grateful to them 🙂

14 thoughts on “Handmade Monday 100 – Experimentally Cross

  1. I think your cross looks very good. I love the combination of colours with the silver wire and blue beads.

    For some reason your link on Handmade Harbour leads to there instead of to your blog.

  2. The colour combination is lovely and I am sure creating the shape was hard work, but you did it – well done. Hope you have a good week.

  3. Oh, I’m sorry – I did notice the link going to the wrong place but then my computer crashed and I forgot (sorry!!). It’s always sortable – feel free to email me if there are future problems like that (I often see an email quicker). The necklace looks lovely – product photography is often a problem, but there’s always lots of lovely people willing to help 🙂

Leave a Reply

