Discovering Hope – Colourful Feedback and Symbolism

Thank You!

I had a great response to my poll about the colours of hope and some really interesting discussions about how the colours appeal to people, mainly over on Facebook. Two colours the “experts” suggest have meanings linked to hope – orange and brown received no votes  – I could understand the brown not appealing but I was surprised at orange as to me its a colour of summer – sun, heat, warmth and all the lovely things to come.

I’ve made a little chart of the results:

Image2

And I’veHope tile also designed a little colour tile I’m planning to use as the colour scheme – in terms of packaging etc –  for the Gifts of Hope collection I’m currently working on. Its been painted freehand with a mouse so the lines are a bit wiggly but I think when its used to colour the logo and the banner for the online shop I’ll be opening it should look good!

What’s Next?

I’m working on a few small designs that will appeal to Christians  – cross bookmarks and patches, fish and anchors – hopefully to include some wire work jewellery too….

But I also want to develop some gifts that will appeal to a wider audience and again I’m going to need your help..

Symbols of Hope

Symbols

I’ve been researching widely, both through reading a variety of sources, web searches and asking questions on my facebook page about objects people associate with hope and I’ve grouped them loosely as follows:

Biblical – Cross, Anchor, Fish, Chi-Ro, Dove, Angel, Rainbow, Boat or Ark, Dove

Popular Culture – Heart, Rainbow, Horseshoe, 4 leafed clover, Bell, “Hope Note Book”, Daffodil / Spring Flowers, Stars, Lighthouse, Butterfly

Mythology / Other Beliefs – Phoenix, Cockerel, Calf, Chinese Script, Horse, Infinity Symbol, Oak Tree, Oil Lamp,

I have a few ideas about things I could make using some of these symbols but this is where you come in….. I’ve designed a little poll and would appreciate your feedback to guide me towards those that would be most popular – thank you again for your help with this and I will be posting the results and more info about the symbols chosen next time

10 thoughts on “Discovering Hope – Colourful Feedback and Symbolism

  1. I just realized after reading this post, curiously enough, that the symbol that I associate with hope, is actually the same color as the color I associate with hope. Kinda cool (in my opinion).

    • Thank you xx I’m enjoying writing about them and exploring the ideas. The polls are proving a great way of getting feedback about what appeals to people and its nice to know that at least some of the time I’m on the right direction 🙂

  2. Pingback: Handmade Monday 107 – From Water to Crosses | bitsandbobscrafts

  3. Hello there! I know this is kinda off topic but I was wondering if you knew where I could
    locate a captcha plugin for my comment form?
    I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having difficulty finding one?
    Thanks a lot!

Leave a Reply

