KCBWDAY1 The House Cup

I took part in Knitting and Crochet Blog Week for the first time last year, simply because I’d got myself into a bit of a rut and lost my way with blogging. There was as per usual lots was happening in my personal life, I was putting loads of pressure on myself to make the teaching succeed and I’d stopped loving what I do.

This year has been a real journey of discovery for me and I’ve definitely changed my outlook on crafting alot  – I’ve got a better business head, thanks to the help from the Mum’s and Business Team at The Lounge amongst others.  And I’ve also journied further and  discovered the creative me, developed a passion for free form work and found out that things I believed I couldn’t do, I could. Writing last years posts  started the journey as they challenged me to view knitting and crochet differently, rediscover my crafting roots and also tap into my latent passion for creative writing – which is still to be explored when I commit the time to completing my Creative Journalling Course.

So… you may be wondering what on earth a Monkey is doing sitting top left looking cute, when I’m rambling on about journeys of self discovery! Well she – I’ll call her Marge –  is there because for this year’s Blog week, our first challenge is to   choose a House – without the help of the Hogwarts Sorting Hat I might add!!! Each house relates to the type of crafter you think you are…..

I had a choice between being a Bee and a Monkey. I know I have bee like tendencies of flitting between projects, liking to have a few on the go and also needing an afternoon a week where I am allowed to play with yarn, wire, beads, needles and hooks…. and I can get distracted by bright shiny things. But I also recognised that I meet the “Monkey Brief” too:

Intelligent and with a fun loving side, Monkeys like to be challenged with every project presenting them with something new and interesting.
 

I love a challenge and that is why I get a bit bee like if that makes sense…… because I need things to keep my brain ticking over. In the non-crafty part of my life…. yep it exists, I love documentaries, historical novels, archaeology, science  – you get the picture. Oh and I’m well known as a bit of a wind-up merchant according to some of my friends….. I love to think! I love to be challenged and I love to discuss and debate ideas and extend or even change my attitudes and opinions as I understand more….. and I like to use that approach to my crafts. I also like to work to deadlines and see projects through the end, but when they are long and repetitive, then I need something else along side.

For example I am currently working on a men’s military style jumper – I took a basic pattern, adapted it, learned how to insert a v-neck and have just finished knitting it up – just the neck back, blocking and sewing up left…..

Some sample Motifs for “Beyond the Granny Square

But…… knitting continuous 3 x1 ribs in black is a “TV knitting” job and tedious, especially as the man concerned is over 6ft tall with long arms….. so I need relief! So in between times I’ve been working on some designs: creating  crochet, beaded, motifs for a free form piece; working up more crochet motifs for an intermediate workshop; and making butterfly brooches for a Together for Short Lives, a charity that Hobby Craft are supporting. I’ve also been teaching children and adults, passing on my skills and hopefully my passions for crafting….. hence I think I am more a monkey – needing the “mental challenge” than a bee, in that my distraction projects have purpose…….. do you agree?

I’m also going to include this post as my Handmade Monday for this week –  so don’t forget to head over to Handmade Harbour and join us.

And if you want to learn to knit or crochet, pop across to the LEARN! or Events pages and book yourself onto a workshop – then you can join next year’s Knitting and Crochet Blog Week and share your talent with the world!

13 thoughts on “KCBWDAY1 The House Cup

  1. I hate crocheting or knitting long pieces in ne colour too – I much prefer multicoloured yarn as it’s more exciting – no idea what I’d be! Your blog week challenge sounds fun though! (Patchwork Fairy)

    • I’ve nearly finished it, have just got the sewing up to do tonight and no more black knitting for a while. Have a couple of very colourful ones I’m about to start … you can read more about it on the next Blog Week Post 🙂

  2. It sounds like your a bit of both which i’m sure is a good thing!

    Being curious and trying new things is great, it certainly keeps life interesting! 🙂

Leave a Reply

