4kcbwday7 Looking Forward

Sorry this is late but it turned out to be an emotional and exhausting weekend sorting out the bungalow with Dad, deciding what to keep, what to store and what to throw. And closing the front door for the last time was very  hard. As was coming back and knowing that Dad was staying in the care home permanently. I’ve no idea of the number of families I supported towards making the decision when I was nursing but what I do know is that I totally under estimated just how hard it is to do.

So I think my looking forward is not going to be as strictly skills based as I’d intended…

 

WaterWater centre

Ocean

As regular readers know I’ve been on quite an artistic journey and have been working on more freeform crochet and knitting projects often inspired by Devon scenery.

 

 

This access to the natural world and the rugged beauty of Dartmoor is having some influence on my current thinking as I’m considering  a move back to Devon,   to be closer to Dad. Having done a bit of research and wandering around I’ve also discovered that along side this beautiful and inspiring back drop that there . is a vibrant creative community established in a nearby little town too….so in theory from a work point of view it would be a good move. But the overall pull is purely emotional, so I think it is wiser to sit with the decision and see how I feel in 6 weeks or so and not rush headlong into a move…

But to give you an idea of  why the village itself inspires me so much creatively this is virtually the same view Dad has from his window now.  And a a view I’ve always loved where ever we’ve lived in the village:

The hill in the background is called Ugborough Beacon and is something of a local weather station… if the “beacon has its hat on” – in other words the top is lost in cloud, we know we’re about to get very wet! Over the year it changes its clothes regulalry, currently its a sort of brackenish brown, but through the year is moves through  greens, gorse yellows and white… its especially pretty in winter!

So I hope that if  I feel my decision is the right on and all goes to plan I’ll be writing for the next Knitting and Crochet blog week from a kitchen table in sunny Devon, with views over Dartmoor and the tumbling River Avon in easy reach …. and my work will be increasingly freeform based and highly influenced by the natural world around me…

3 thoughts on “4kcbwday7 Looking Forward

Leave a Reply

